Stock sharing allows you to link your stock items and recipes between multiple sites. This will not only save time in the initial set-up of your stock system for new sites but give you a way to update the items and recipes in a central location.
Stock sharing isn't enabled by default but if you would like to start using this feature, please contact one of our support team via the send feedback tab in your Loaded account.
Sharing a single Item
All item sharing functions are managed in the Stock Items Manage page. This can be found under STOCK -> Manage -> Stock Items. To share an item from one site to another, switch to the site with the item that is being shared. Beside the item, in the 'Actions' drop-down, select 'Share Site Item'. Then, in the window that appears, select the site you want to share the item to.
On the next window, you will get a confirmation of the share. When sharing an item there are two ways that the share will complete
- Replace - If there is already an item on the target site with the same name as the source item, the two items will be linked. This won't overwrite any of the details on the target item but will allow you to manage both items from a central location.
- New - No item in the target site has the same item name so a new item will be created on the target site.
To complete the sharing process click 'Confirm'. When the item has been shared, a green shared icon will appear next to the items name on the stock list.
Managing shared items
Items that have been shared have the added bonus of central management. This means, no matter what site's item list you are looking at, you can edit the other versions of that item that exist on other sites.
To manage a shared item, select 'Manage Site Item' from that items 'Actions' menu.
From this popup you can edit fields from the items at each site, delete the item from one of the sites or share the item to another site.
Once an item is shared, it cannot be deleted from anywhere except the Manage Stock Item popup.
Sharing multiple Items at once
To share multiple items at once, click the 'Share' button at the top of the site items page.
From here you can use the check boxes to select the items you want to share and then click 'Share Selected', or you can click 'Share All' to share your entire stock list in one go.
Once you get to the sharing confirmation screen you will see the same breakdown of what is going to happen on the destination site but this time, all the selected items will be listed.
Sharing a recipe
The process of sharing a recipe is very similar to sharing an item. The sharing is managed in the Stock Recipes manage page which can be found under STOCK -> Manage -> Recipes.
There are a couple of differences that you should keep in mind when sharing recipes.
- When sharing a recipe, all items and other recipes that are used in that recipes lines are shared automatically to the target site.
- Once a recipe has been shared, any changes to that recipe will also be applied to all the copies of that recipe on other sites.
- If, when editing a shared recipe you add an item that isn't already shared, this item will automatically be shared to all sites that the recipe is shared to.
To share a recipe, select 'Share Recipe' from the recipes Actions drop-down. Next select the site you want to share the recipe to from the 'Share To...' select box.
On the sharing confirmation popup, you will see the recipe and all other associated items and recipes that will be shared to the target site.
To complete the sharing process, click 'Confirm'.
Sharing multiple recipes
To share multiple recipes at once, click 'Share Multiple' at the bottom of the recipe manage page. Use the check boxes to select the recipes you want to share, select the site you want to share the recipes to using the 'Share To...' select box, then click 'Share Selected'.